Pull Up a Desk

So, I’m sitting on a hotel bed near Des Moines, Iowa as I write this. Tomorrow, I start a two-day class to learn Personal Lines Insurance (Monday) and Commercial Lines Insurance (Tuesday). Apparently, it’s two days of pretty intense learning with a lot of testing practice to go along with it. It’s all to prepare us for the Personal Lines and Commercial Lines tests… which I have scheduled for Wednesday at noon. Gotta tell ya… I’m a little nervous. I pass these tests, and I’m a licensed Insurance Agent. Don’t pass it? And I take the test again, until I do. But I really want to pass on the first try. This class is said to have about a 90% Pass Rate, so I’m optimistic. Cautiously optimistic. And nervous. But I’ve always been a good student, so I have confidence in my own abilities. I know I can do this. Still nervous, though. That’s a good thing, right? (wish me luck….)

And to answer your question… Personal Lines means home, auto, renters, stuff like that. Commercial Lines is, generally speaking, business insurance. There are a lot of categories that fall in there, but that’s the general idea.

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pull Up a Desk

  1. Joy says:

    Good luck Laura and try and sneak in a little fun. A tack on your teachers chair maybe???

  2. SKL says:

    I hope you enjoy the classes and ace the test!

  3. SKL says:

    Well, I’m back from my weekend at Great Wolf Lodge with my kids and about 35 other families who have adopted kids from my kids’ birth country. It was a lot of fun as usual. As the kids get older, it’s nice as I can relax a bit more each year. This year the girls were big enough to go on the really big waterslide without any grown-ups. They were a little iffy about it, but seeing me not worried for them, they braved it and had a blast. My only fear was that they would get all the way to the top of the stairs (a feat in itself, carrying the big double tube) and be told they weren’t allowed to ride on their own. As my sister pointed out, Miss A looks littler than she is. But down they came, with big smiles. 🙂

    It was nice to have a vacation. Yes, this was a vacation! Never mind the fact that it didn’t start until after close of business Friday and it ended before sundown Sunday.

    The girls wanted to sleep with me in one queen-sized bed, and they were extra cuddly. Which meant I could not move all night! Man, my back paid a price! The things we do for our kids . . . .

    When I came back, as I usually do at the end of a trip, I unpacked everything and did the laundry and cleaned and organized until I felt like a normal person again. Ahh! Now I am back to work! It helped that the girls conked out at like 6pm. I told them to call it a night and I’d wake them early to do their weekend homework. (God forbid a 6yo kid have a long weekend without freakin’ homework! Blah!)

  4. Sue says:

    Good luck! You’ll do great 🙂 Just think of all the new stuff you’ll learn and how it can apply to you and you’ll pass with flying colors!

  5. SKL says:

    Oh, bummer. Got one kid down with a stomach bug. Lost it 4x (so far) since midnight – two in the car, one in the bed, one in the right place. :/

    Had lots of plans for today. Let’s see how it shapes up. :/

    • Joy says:

      Oh the poor little thing. Hope she feels better and it all goes well today.

      • SKL says:

        She’s been sleeping (on the floor next to the bathroom) for over an hour now.

        I was hoping to take Miss A tonight to get her new glasses fitted. Now I dunno. I sure don’t want to take a pukey kid in there, but I hate to wait, and these bugs usually don’t last long. Debating whether to make an appointment or not.

        Then there is dance class at 6pm. Miss E will not mind missing it, but Miss A will. There’s nobody for Miss E to hang around with other than me. Bah. Of course I can always make that decision later.

      • Joy says:

        If it were me, I’d keep her at home and warm. Sleep and rest is the best medicine for this crap.

        • SKL says:

          I think you’re right. The glasses can wait. I hope she’s OK tomorrow, since I have an all-day meeting and an evening car appointment.

          These are the times when single parenting is kinda sucky.

  6. Nikki says:

    We had a very productive weekend. We got the room under the stairs cleaned out and organized! Jason brought the boxes up. I went through them, threw a lot of it away, then we repacked everything. Which made me wonder why I packed it in the first place! I bet we got rid of half the boxes. I found stuff that I thought I’d lost. I got all pictures in one box, all of Bailey’s school stuff in one box, and all old important stuff in one. I feel so much better about that!

    That’s about all we did all weekend. I didn’t leave my house. That was my intention. I had some where to go every day, for the last week. I just wanted to stay in and get stuff done.

    I hope everyone had a good weekend. Have a good Monday! 🙂 It’s bright as can be today, with the sun shining and the ground blinding white. 🙂

  7. starlaschat says:

    Actually my qeustion was: Do you know how many nakid butts sit on hotel bedspreads! :+) Ewww. :+)
    I know you will do great! YOU CAN DO IT!

Leave a Reply

