Cooler Corn

It’s Sweet Corn Time! And I love me some fresh sweet corn, fortunately, I live in Corn Central, and you can’t swing a dead cat without hitting a pickup truck on the side of the road full of corn for sale.

Well, the other day, I had three extra kids – Wyatt, Abby, and Lily – and they love corn on the cob as much as I do. So we decided to stop at one of those ubiquitous pickup trucks and pick up a dozen.

But how to cook it? 12 ears is a LOT of corn; especially these ears, which were HUGE! There’s no way I could have fit all 12 of them into one of my soup pots – they wouldn’t have fit into two of them! And then I remembered a post on Pinterest:

Cooler Corn. Easy-peasy, and it WORKS! Here’s how

Peel the corn. Put it in the bottom of a big cooler. Bring a couple soup-pots of water to a rolling boil. Pour water over corn, close the lid. Let it sit for a half hour. THAT’S IT!!

I was a little skeptical, but when I took that corn out, oh, sweet lord, was it good!!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cooler Corn

  1. Joy says:

    I also wondered if this would be good. I’m so glad it is. I’m not a fan of the mess of corn so Paul and I never eat it. This is nice.

Leave a comment