Pull Up … Something

It’s ‘turn back the clock’ weekend. I hate that they’ve moved it so far back into Fall, but whatever. I don’t know why we have to keep changing, honestly. It used to be for Farmers, but with technology they don’t need it anymore. I think it’s more of a PR thing, now. “Change the clocks, change the batteries.”

And this year, it’s “change the clocks, change the president,” which, as a no-so-big-fan of Obama, entertains me. And provides a segue into this story:

I voted yesterday (Friday). I wanted to take Josh, and I wasn’t sure how it was going to work on Voting Day, with him having to be at school, and me having to be at work, I didn’t want to deal with lines and whatnot. So I checked him out of school at lunch hour and we headed to the County Auditor’s office. I sat down with my ballot and started showing him how it works – without saying any names out loud. And we were using stage whispers – there was nobody else voting anyway. And the auditor shows up… “He can’t be here.”

“What? What are you talking about?”

“The boy. He can’t watch you vote.”

“Why not?”

“State law”

“That’s ridiculous. How is he supposed to learn?”

“He can learn when he’s 18”

Oh, the comebacks I had for that one. But I could tell that Josh was getting upset, so I held my tongue, finished voting, and scooted us out of there. And proceeded to tell him that, in this case, an authority figure was wrong – there is no Iowa Law stating that minors may not witness their parents’ votes. I know this because friends and I have brought our children to various polling places in the past, and voted with them on our laps. Don’t know what the deal with this particular auditor was…

So. That’s my voting story for this year. What’s yours? Have you participated in the Early Voting Wave, or are you a traditionalist, and saving your vote for Tuesday? Or are you like a friend of mine who is sick and tired of the whole process and refuses to vote at all?

And don’t forget to check your clocks, otherwise you’re gonna be expected to have donuts when you arrive an hour early for work tomorrow morning!

This entry was posted in Pull Up Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pull Up … Something

  1. Joy says:

    I always took my kids to vote with me so they could see how it was. I vote on voting day. I’m a creature of habit.

    Paul is having cataract surgery tomorrow and I have to have him to the hospital by 6:30 AM so tonight is almost over for me. What an ungodly time to have to get up!

    PS….I hope to change the president too. The polls are so close that I have no idea what’s going to happen.

  2. Missy says:

    While I disagree with your votes for President, I completely agree with you showing your son the voting process! A+ Mom and F for the poll security that tried to stop you from doing your job as a Mom. So how do y’all feel about Gay Marriage and Legal Marijuana? Not that I’m gay OR smoke weed….Is this not the forum for those?

  3. skl1 says:

    I also take my kids when I vote. Nobody has ever said anything about it. That’s idiotic.

    I will vote on Tuesday and then hardly breathe until the ballots are counted.

    I don’t have strong feelings about the time change, but I must say that it was mighty dark out there tonight when the kids went out to Trick-or-Treat (at 6pm). We don’t have streetlights on our street. It was pretty weird.

    The kids had a blast today. Now back to reality tomorrow. But on the positive side, they only have a 3-day school week this week. I need to schedule my car servicing and some therapy stuff this week, vote, and live through the parent-teacher meeting, and then on Friday, we’re off to Great Wolf Lodge for the weekend. In between, I need to do some serious exercise to work off this past month of overindulgence (before the next month of overindulgence starts in a few weeks).

    Oh, by the way, I’m so glad to see the pull-up post back!

  4. Nikki says:

    I’m very nervous about the election. I vote on voting day. Since we moved, I vote somewhere else now, and it happens to be a block away, so that part is nice. Jason is one of those that refuses to vote because he doesn’t think it does any good. But I have to also say, he doesn’t complain one way or the other so, if he doesn’t want to vote-so be it.

    Today, Bailey is out of school. It’s the end of the 1st quarter. It seemed to have flown by!

    Since Bailey is home, and I happen to have the day off (that NEVER happens) we are going to have some lunch soon, find a movie to rent on PPV and snuggle on the couch.

    That’s about it for us. I hope everyone has a good week!

    GO OUT AND VOTE!!!!

Leave a comment