10 Best Horror Movies

Here is People magazines top 10 horror movies. Do you have any to add or anything to say about their pics?

What about books? What’s the scariest book you’ve ever read?

This entry was posted in horror movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 10 Best Horror Movies

  1. Phyllis says:

    I don’t do scary anything (books or movies). Occasionally I catch bits and pieces if it’s on somewhere in the house, but I avoid these like the plague!

  2. Laura says:

    Me too. I don’t know if it’s because I don’t like scary stuff, or because I don’t have patience for all of the blood n’ guts that seems to be the requirement for “horror” flicks. I used to love Twilight Zone… that was stuff that really made you think, or snuck up on you and scared you. You had to think about it. Now, it’s just “how many people can we cut up” kind of stuff. yuk.

    Scary books… hmmm. I don’t think I’ve read any. There’s one tugging at the side of my mind, I don’t remember too much though. I think I read it in hs.

  3. Joy says:

    The Shining scared the bejesus out of me. I’d read the book first. Pet Semetery and Cujo really scared me too. I do love Steven King for some odd reason. His are the only scary things I can do and his are REALLY scary. He makes normal things scary.

    • skl1 says:

      My mom’s dog is named “Cujo.” 🙂 He is an exceptionally large German Shepherd. My mom’s late best friend, who was a huge Stephen King fan, was almost afraid to come visit when she heard the dog’s name was Cujo.

  4. skl1 says:

    I have only seen a few of those “top 10” movies. I generally don’t do “horror.” I can take a scare, but usually the horror flicks are all about being gross. I don’t enjoy gross. I did see Stephen King’s Pet Semetary, but while that was horrific, I did not find it enjoyable. Not the sort of thing I’d want to see again.

    As far as books, I can’t really remember reading any good horror books that I’d recommend, other than Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I enjoyed Frankenstein, but it was more “light reading” to me. It’s possible that I’ve read others that I liked but didn’t leave a lasting impression. Does Dean Koontz count? Some of his are pretty spooky.

    • skl1 says:

      Oh, how could I forget Edgar Allen Poe’s short stories? And H.P. Lovecraft?

    • Joy says:

      If you didn’t read Pet Semetary, you didn’t really get the real story. The movie didn’t follow it well at all. It’s one of the most disappointing “book turned to movies” that I’ve ever seen. The book was so creepy but SOOOO good.

  5. starlaschat says:

    I haven’t read many scary book I may have to add that to my list of reading. I know Carrie (blogger at Write Transition) has just published her book Seneca Scurge that is a medical thriller that is on my list to read. It’s about a nasty flu bug that gets out of hand just the thought of it makes me frightened. :+) Maybe I’ll have to give Stephen King a read this winter.I’ve been enjoying reading books out of my comfort zone. I was so boring most of my life just reading non fiction. :+) Boring!

  6. Nikki says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever read a scary book. I love scary movies. I watch the scary parts through my eyes, but I love the adrenaline you get from the anticipation. I did see the first Saw movie, and tried to watch the 2nd but they don’t to it for me. Same story, but in a different way. Very predictable, and is more on the gory side than scary.

    I love all the Freddy Kruger and Jason movies. They are probably my favorite.

Leave a Reply

