Kids cutting their own hair!!

Jason, Nikki and Bailey were over on Saturday and Nikki and I were talking and Jason and Bailey were snooping looking through stuff in our junk closet. We were laughing and looking at stuff saying “remember this, remember that?”  It was fun. So after they left I went back in and started going through a bunch of pictures.  I came across these two I’m going to show you but I wanted to know, do all kids at least once cut their own hair?  I know a lot of kids that did it but these pictures brought back the memories.

This one is of Jason is his second grade photo. It’s my favorite school picture of him.  The funniest thing about this is I didn’t even notice he’d cut his hair until I got these pictures back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How funny is this?  I’m so glad I have this picture.  I loved this sweater and might even still have it somewhere.  Funny thing is, in my mind he still looks this way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh Toby, isn’t this look wonderful?  The funny thing about this, and I can remember it like yesterday was I was sitting at the table having coffee and he came down the stairs in these goofy shorts he liked and an equally goofy shirt with all this gel in his hair.  I didn’t think anything of it at first.  As he got closer to me it was starting to dawn on me that something just wasn’t right.  I about crapped my pants.  He cut his hair from ear to ear right along the hairline!!!!  OMG!!! Cutting his hair like that isn’t what the OMG was about but Paul’s son was getting married the following weekend.  Jason was in the wedding and Toby was doing the guest book and running the gifts.  I was mortified.  But the world didn’t stop spinning and everything turned out fine and now it’s terribly funny to me.

Going through these pictures was really fun and it made me wonder how many kids do this?  Did your kids do this or do you know any-ones who did?  Or did you do it???

This entry was posted in accidents, behavior, childhood, children, cutting hair, differences, funny, growing up, humor, impulses, kids, life lessons, memories, mischievous, mistakes, old days, past and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kids cutting their own hair!!

  1. SKL says:

    I can’t think of any kid who hasn’t done this. If they don’t cut their own hair, they cut someone else’s.

    My kids haven’t tried it yet – but you wouldn’t know it by looking at them. The last time I went at them with a scissor, they moved around so much, it looks like I used a lawn mower on them.

    Oh, well.

  2. SanityFound says:

    Hmm I once got the most terrible haircut at the hairdressers, in my onion she had totally bleeped it up and I cried non stop (that was the start of my distaste for them)… I went home and proceeded to fix it, actually looked quite good but I do thank the Gods that there aren’t any photos!

  3. thegoddessanna says:

    I honestly never cut my own hair. I wanted long hair, but my mother and grandmother would always cut it short against my wishes – so I had no need to cut my own hair. I did cut the cat’s hair once though.

    My daughter has done it twice, however – once, she gave herself bangs, and nobody noticed until we found the hair because she did a good job (they weren’t across her forehead, but swept to the side framing the face). She was three. The second time was at the beginning of summer – she cut a hunk out of her hair on the left side – nobody knows why. It finally grew long enough that we could incorporate it into a bob a couple weeks ago.

    The boys haven’t tried, but I’m surprised at that. They went so long without a hair cut I was waiting for them to do it themselves!

  4. Just a Mom says:

    My oldest daughter cut her own hair when she was in 2nd grade right before pictures too! What is it with cutting your hair right before picture day? Last year she was stupid and let a friend of hers cut her hair. It was bad. I took her to the hairdresser and the stupid hairdresser tells her that her friend had the right idea! Yeah go ahead and encourage them! 🙂

    I think I have threatned my youngest daughter enough so she has not cut her own hair!

  5. nikki says:

    OMG!!! Those pictures are great!!! I just love the one of Jason, he’s so cute!!! Bailey did it once but it wasn’t bad, he was in Kindergarten. I never did it for the same reason as Goddessanna didn’t. My hair was thick and curly and if it wasn’t in some kind of braid or pony the curls underneath would tangle so bad. I think I had long hair until I went to school. After that my mom always had it cut short. Now with my niece, we have an agreement about her hair. Trim, that’s it!!

  6. Sue says:

    I never cut my own hair. My kids haven’t cut their own hair, YET. I don’t think Trin will, but Christopher might. I thought Toby cut his hair b/4 Nancy and John’s wedding when he was in it? I’ve seen that picture of Jason b/4 and never noticed his hair! That’s too funny.

  7. Joy says:

    Thank goodness he didn’t cut it before Nancy and John’s. That was a hoity toity wedding. No, it was Johnny’s.

  8. K. Trainor says:

    Our oldest cut her own hair the day before pictures, too. The youngest is more prone to scalp Barbies.

  9. Sandra says:

    My daughter did this once when she was six. I had to do some shopping for an upcoming family dinner and she had stayed home with her dad. Well while I was gone she told her father she going to take a nap and he wasn’t really paying attention so she went in her school bag and got a shiney pair of safety scissors. She had long, shiney black hair and she cut it all off. She had cut her unevenly in every little spot. When I got home she ran up to me with tears in her eyes yelling I didn’t mean to. And I was so heartbroken. That night we had decided that we’d take her to the hair salon the next morning and see if we could get it all evened out. Well we did. But now she looks twenty years older. No more baby face for her.

Leave a comment