Cheeseburger Soup

2 Carrots
1 Onion
2 Stalks Celery
8 Cups Potatoes diced
3 Cans Chicken Broth
1/4 c Flour
1/2 c Butter
1/2 lb Hamburger meat
1/2 c Milk
1/4 c Sour Cream
1/2 lb Velveeta Cheese
Salt and Pepper to taste

Brown the meat and drain. Set Aside. Chop the potatoes up into small chunks and set aside. Grate the carrots and chop the celery and the onion. Melt 1/4 c of the butter in a large 5 qt pot and saute the onions and the celery until clear. Add cooked hamburger meat, and potatoes along with the chicken broth. Simmer until the potatoes are tender. While this is cooking, take the remaining butter and add the flour over low heat. Stir until thick then set aside. Once the potatoes are done to your liking add the flour mixture to thicken the soup. (I boil the potatoes seperatly, then add to the meat to speed up that process.) Stir well, then add the cheese cut into blocks along with the milk. Stir occasionally until the cheese is melted. I let it simmer in the Crock-Pot all day.  Right before serving take the soup off of the heat and add the sour cream. Stir until incorporated and then serve. Goes great along with some French Bread, or my favorite warm Ciabatta bread.

You will find as you cook this you will adjust the amounts of broth and cheese for your own liking. You can also play with the amount of potatoes and meat to make it a more filling soup.

*I personally do not add carrots or celery, but that’s just me. I also put 2 lbs meat, and 1 lb Velveeta.


This entry was posted in comfort food, home cooking, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Cheeseburger Soup

  1. Sue says:

    Everyone should make this!!!! It was super good and very easy! What are you waiting for???

  2. Laura says:

    Nikki, when you do this in the crock pot, do you cook the taters separately and add them later? I would think that all day in a crock would make them pretty mushy…

  3. Joy says:

    I made this yesterday and I didn’t use the crock pot and I used double the broth stuff cause I’m a broth girl. It’s excellent and I will FOR SURE make this often. It’s very filling and with a loaf of french bread, YUM

    • Joy says:

      I also didn’t put in the sour cream. I don’t know why. It just was creamy and cheesy enough without it and I kind of thought since you add it at the end, it might curdle when I reheated it because I made enough for my mom and two more meals for us.

    • Joy says:

      I thought of adding dollop of it to my bowl but I was so excited to eat it that I forgot. I will add it when I have it for lunch tomorrow. Now I’m hungry.

  4. Jenny says:

    LOVED it!!! Although I made it without the potatoes, cause I didn’t have any at the time. But it def. needs them!! I also didn’t add the sour cream cause I just forgot. Its very yummy 😀

  5. Joy says:

    I actually woke up this morning craving this so I can’t wait for lunch.

  6. Jenny says:

    Glad you put this on here today!! Making it right now! YUM

  7. Karen Joy says:

    Oh Ive seen your status’ so often on FB when your making this and wanted to try it.Thanks for the recipe.I was just saying to the hubby I want soup today.Ive caught a nasty cold,sore throat so soup is always good.Homemade chick noodle is to much work so this will be it.(if I can get my hubby to the store,its stormy here AGAIN)

  8. Laura says:

    I’m thinking this might be good for Thursday. Every other day is crazy busy!

    • Joy says:

      This is really good for a busy day. Brown the meat, steam the veggies and stick it all in a crock pot and when you get home, supper awaits.

      • Laura says:

        I also have to get potatoes… although I guess I could throw everything else in and do the potatoes at the end, which means making it in the morning, and just picking up taters as the day goes by… hmmm…. not a bad idea…

      • Nikki says:

        I keep forgetting to ask you Joy, did you add the carrots and celery?

        • Joy says:

          I did Nikki but I didn’t shred the carrots. I sliced them but next time I’ll cut them a little smaller and soup isn’t really soup without celery is it??

  9. How many 1000’s of calories per serving? Waistline and cholesterol hiller

  10. lk_wdwrd@hotmail.com says:

    I have made this several times. We love it. I also serve it with bread sticks or homemade bread.

  11. Rachael says:

    I have made this for about the past 5 years but instead of using flour for the thickener; I use corn starch. This is my families favorite soup aside from chicken n noodles

  12. Shelby says:

    how much chicken broth exactly? it just says cans… what size?

    • Joy says:

      I use the cardboard container thingy’s. They’re 24 ounces but I’d assume the 15 ounce cans. Once you make it you’ll know it’s really a personal preference. I love broth so if I can, I use more than most people but some people like a thicker broth so really, it’s up to the individual.

  13. Mary Sue Keasler says:

    Have mine cooking right now. Can hardly wait. Of course hubs doesn’t like carrots and celery, so I’m going to add some corn at the end of the cook time.

  14. I think I will leave out the carrots and celery too but add bacon. Thanks for the recipe!

  15. in the crock pot for dinner tomorrow i cant wait its been really cold here so this should warm the bones!

  16. Mary Jo says:

    I’m wondering why chicken broth instead of beef broth?

  17. Leah says:

    How important is the velveeta cheese. Do you think it would work with regular cheddar cheese and using less? I try and avoid processed foods as much as possible and sooo many recipes have that on ingredient I can’t bring myself to buy…

    But this looks super tasty!!

  18. Dana says:

    I make this all the time! My sons love it! I use diced potatoes in the can and it works great.

  19. Phoebe says:

    If you put diced dill pickles, diced onion, ketchup, and mustard on it, it tastes like a McDonald’s cheeseburger! 🙂

  20. Amanda says:

    Do I have to cook it all together on stove first? Can I cook meat and throw in crock pot with the potatoes and cook veggies and add all the rest in crock pot and let cook that way?

  21. Sara says:

    Yes, I was wondering if the velveeta is necessary too. Has anyone tried it with something else?

  22. Amanda says:

    I made it tonight and it was delish. I first put it in the slow cooker…the potatoes in with the broth, then the meat, then the veggies and let cook for several hours. Then I added the milk and cheese and let cook together while I made the butter and corn starch. I mixed all together and let cook for about ten minutes. After that I added the sour cream and we ate. Everyone enjoyed it!

  23. Missi says:

    I’ve made this soup for years but only ever used the “thickening” part early on…It really is pretty creamy w/o that step and it tended to get lumpy sometimes when I did it. I found the recipe about 10 years ago after I had it in a coffee shop. There they serve it in a bread bowl…Yum!!!

  24. Jenny says:

    Couldn’t find my old recipe for this, but this is very good!! I altered it a bit. I added chopped green pepper instead of the carrots, and a few shakes of worcestershire. And i used diced frozen hashbrowns. Very good!!!

  25. trisha says:

    Cooking this right now. My mom made this for me when I was little. I haven’t had it in 10 years! …. …. Wow. That makes me sound old. I’m not old, just finished college. Anyway, I can’t wait! I made it as the recipe called for which is unusual, I wanted to try regular cheddar too but was afraid it would ruin it. Has that worked for anyone? Thanks for the recipe!

  26. “Cheeseburger Soup | Us Girls..Our Views” seriously causes me ponder a somewhat more.
    I personally admired every single portion of it. Regards
    -Rex

  27. Ellen says:

    I made this tonight. Was going to use my slow cooker, but forgot so I made it on the stove. I also added crispy crumbled bacon. I can’t get velveeta in the UK so I used grated cheddar. It was pretty yummy.

  28. JoJo says:

    I used about 1- 1/2+ lb. of browned hamburger and 1 lb. of velveeta. I successfully used a lg. bag of hash brown potatoes and I added crumbled cooked bacon. Cooked it all in the crockpot on low. I ended up using 2 boxes of chicken stock. My son didn’t like the carrots. I bought a bag of shredded carrots and used about half plus onions and celery seed. I think the sour cream was a yummy addition. I liked it! I would make it again!

  29. Sharon says:

    Can you tell me about how many serving this makes? Thank You!

  30. Made this this past weekend and it was so delicious ! I doubled the reciepe and it made quite a lot ! I also cooked mine on top of stove and it turned out perfect !!! Must try this you will love it and so easy !

  31. Heather says:

    This sounds yummy. About the Velveeta or cheddar cheese dilemma, I make a cheesy chicken soup with a cheddar cheese roux and add that to the soup at the end. 1/4 cup butter melted in saucepan, add 1/3 cup flour off the heat and stir, next add 2 or more cups milk back on heat slowly until desired thickness, add about 3 cups cheddar until incorporated. It took me a while to perfect my roux, so have patience. It really makes a nice cheesy broth for the soup.

  32. Tanya says:

    Just making this now……I was thinking of adding a can of green chilies for a bit of kick. What does everyone think? I don’t want to ruin it by adding them!!

  33. Julianne says:

    Great soup! But just brown the meat and throw everything in the crockpot. I don’t know what the purpose of having a slow cooker recipe is if you have to precook everything? I just put it all in and cooked it for 5 hrs and it turned out great.

  34. Shelley says:

    I am making this right now leaving nothing out as my family loves everything. Can hardly wait to try it. A trick my mother taught me many years ago is to substitute hash browns (not shredded) in some soups instead of peeling and chopping potatoes. Its quick and easy. I also use cheez whiz if I don’t have Velveeta.

  35. neomama says:

    Mine is cooking right now.I used 1 pound of buffalo, unbleached flour, coconut oil instead of butter, elbow mac instead of potatoes and sharp shredded cheddar instead of velveeta. It has been cooking all day and smells amazing! I know this will be wonderful with the bisquits I am making. Mmmmm..you should try this!

Leave a comment