Spinach-Topped Tomatoes

  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes
  • Salt
  • 3 large tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup soft bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • Shredded Parmesan cheese, optional

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, cook spinach according to package directions with bouillon; drain well. Cool slightly; press out excess liquid.
  • Lightly salt tomato halves; place with cut side down on a paper towel for 15 minutes to absorb excess moisture.
  • Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the spinach, bread crumbs, cheese, onion, butter, egg, garlic, pepper and cayenne pepper.
  • Place tomato halves, cut side up, in a shallow baking dish. Divide the spinach mixture over tomatoes. Sprinkle with shredded cheese if desired. Bake at 350° for about 15 minutes or until heated through. Yield: 6 servings.

From Taste of Home

This entry was posted in recipes, taste of home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spinach-Topped Tomatoes

  1. starlaschat says:

    I hope I can get my printer working so I can make a copy of this recipe and the brococli recipe. By the way I love the Holy Hocks Beautiful and nice matching sides the color is perfect. My favorite shirt this summer is this pink color funny I wouldn’t think I would like wearing that color but I always feel happy when I have it on.

  2. Nikki says:

    I’ve been looking for a GOOD stuffed/topped tomato recipe. This looks amazing. My neighbors are just about ripe. Only a few so far, he said by today or tomorrow he’ll have more 🙂 I love tomatoes!!!

  3. Joy says:

    You know, I’m not going to use frozen spinach. I’m going to steam fresh. It’s sometimes so watery when it’s frozen.

  4. Laura says:

    My tomatoes are still green on the vine. Manservant Jim said his are, too. It’s bizarre. We have TONS, but none are turning.

    I wonder… do you ‘hull out’ the tomatoes? Pull out all the pulp from the center so you have more space for the stuffing? I don’t know if I’d pull ALL of it out. Maybe the seed/gel stuff, though.

  5. Joy says:

    I’ve been thinking. A touch of bacon wouldn’t hurt these either.

Leave a Reply

